Go Back   The AK Files Forums > Rifle Forums > Saigas and VEPRs

Old 12-10-2012, 03:50 AM   #1
EonDresari
Curio & Relic

AKaholic #: 165498
Default Crush Washers and Muzzle Devices

If I use a crush washer to secure a muzzle device to my VEPR would it be visible? If so, anyone have pictures of how visible? I've never used one before, just wondering. What's the "least visible way to mount one and still have it detachable on a VEPR that lacks the locking detent?
EonDresari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:50 AM   #2
armored223
Veteran Member
Contributor

AKaholic #: 159847

How about Teflon tape? I was going to try that temporarily till I chop and solder
armored223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:03 AM   #3
The Sarge
Old Man

AKaholic #: 165282

Go to about 6:59 of this clip
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-B5hSMjwksc

I never use a crush washer myself as I thread the device for a specific or particular rifle.
As I get to the end of the threading I try whatever muzzle device I am putting on. If it needs say another 1/4 turn to line up I go a bit more etc. until I can tighten it and it has indexed to the proper position.

Nothing wrong with a crush washer. Really only applies to muzzle brakes and not flash hiders anyway.

As for not using a crush washer and the thing falling off. Good luck with getting a properly torqued muzzle device off without a crush washer. They are not going anywhere when properly torqued.
The Sarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:30 PM   #4
EonDresari
Curio & Relic

Hey, thanks for the advice armored and sarge. Yeah this is for a flash hider that's going on my 7.62x54r VEPR. That video showed exactly what I was wondering, the washer is still fairly visible. I'd prefer not having any visible gap between the muzzle and the flash hider. When you do your threading etc, and place your flash hider on the rifle, if you aren't using a crush washer etc, do you just tighten it by itself?