Go Back   The AK Files Forums > Rifle Forums > AK-47s

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2017, 09:08 PM   #1
Rammstein1
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 188226
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Wooster,Ohio
Posts: 7
Default Arsenal SA M-7 classic

Picked up a SA M-7 few weeks back. Guy thought it was a SAM7 and sold it cheap. Low and behold it wasn't serial number is in the high 500s. Only problem was previous owner cut the lower tang off and handgaurd retainer which I got all new Russia parts as replacements. Just searching now for a bulgy scope rail. Anyone else have one of these early 2000s Arsenals
Rammstein1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:06 PM   #2
Mrgunsngear
AKaholic
 
Mrgunsngear's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 161751
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Carolina
Posts: 3,857
Default

I have 2x of them. Great rifles.
__________________
Mrgunsngear Youtube Channel
Mrgunsngear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 11:24 PM   #3
mishaco
Member
 
AKaholic #: 190226
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Springdale, AR
Posts: 177
Default

I have a SAS M-7 Classic. I know its not the same exactly, and the SA M-7 Classic is rarer....either way, real nice rifles. That said, I don't much care for the wood. Its too 'commercial' looking for my taste, so i replaced it with Bulgie bakelite stuff. I am sure you'll love yours. If you don't, sell it to me hehe, cheers.
mishaco is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 07:45 PM   #4
Rammstein1
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 188226
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Wooster,Ohio
Posts: 7
Default

I ordered some new old stock laminate Russia furniture for it.
Rammstein1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 01:19 AM   #5
boutcha
Curio & Relic
Bronze Contributor
 
boutcha's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 172420
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 5,844
Default

Don't add a scope rail to that receiver. Did that one come with one?
Add a Master Mount, no damage to your receiver and can be switched back to stock very easy.
If it came with one, my apologizes.
__________________
boutcha


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sigiloso View Post
If you think Russia didn't and doesn't meddle in our internal affairs, you are either a Russian agent, or totally beyond help.
boutcha is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 11:35 AM   #6
Charlemagne
Curio & Relic
 
Charlemagne's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 137433
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Salt LakeCity, Utah
Posts: 2,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boutcha View Post
Don't add a scope rail to that receiver. Did that one come with one?
Add a Master Mount, no damage to your receiver and can be switched back to stock very easy.
If it came with one, my apologizes.

Doug Ford used to sell a reproduction AK74N scope rail. These would be authentic for a Type 3, if you could find one. Maybe somebody could talk Tortort or Jmac into doing a run of these.
Charlemagne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 01:11 PM   #7
Neanderthal
Member
 
AKaholic #: 184703
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Twin Oaks, Oklahoma
Posts: 118
Default

Rammstein, what year production is your SA M-7? The very first of them had poly furniture and no rail mount on the receiver. I have a 2000 model (first year).
Neanderthal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 02:50 PM   #8
chawkpilot
Veteran Member
 
AKaholic #: 3793
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoNoGo View Post
Is yours 90 gas block (not Classic) ?
This was my question, do you have an ordinary M7 or is it the M7 Classic??
chawkpilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 10:16 PM   #9
Rammstein1
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 188226
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Wooster,Ohio
Posts: 7
Default

It never came with a rail. My plan was to find a 74N mount. I have a few friends in Russia who could probably get me one. Mine is a 2001 model mine would be the R series with the 90 gas block
Rammstein1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 03:15 PM   #10
Neanderthal
Member
 
AKaholic #: 184703
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Twin Oaks, Oklahoma
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoNoGo View Post
Is yours 90 gas block (not Classic) ?
You're right. Mine is 90 degree gas block (not Classic).


Last edited by Neanderthal; 08-15-2017 at 03:31 PM.
Neanderthal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©1998-2017 The AK FIles