Go Back   The AK Files Forums > Rifle Forums > SVDs and RomAK IIIs

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2017, 01:05 AM   #1
randomirish
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 189213
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Bushnell,FL
Posts: 8
Default PSL/FPK Parts questions

I have a couple of questions Im sure have been answered on here before, hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

1. Is the trigger group and safety the same as a standard AKM? i.e. Could I put an ALG AKT trigger and a Krebs safety in the rifle it self?

2. Is there any kind of longer stocks made for one? Ive got long arms and the short little stock is far from comfortable for me to shoot. I would like to stay with wood but would look into other poly options if I have to. My receiver is not a flat back its the curved back.

3. What would a good general purpose Optic be for the rifle? I was thinking either a standard com bloc optic or using the RS Regulate mount with a pair of 30mm rings and a vortex strike eagle or similar
randomirish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 11:09 AM   #2
Mark75H
Veteran Member
 
Mark75H's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 158645
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake Country
Posts: 1,120
Default

The only part that is the same is the single hook trigger itself. All the other parts are similar but not interchangeable.

Not sure how much longer the Black Horse adjustable stock is if any. Outside of that, I don't think there are any off the shelf stocks that are longer than original. Jerry's stuff looks good and recent reports are favorable, but his history is sketchy. COD or postal money order is the only way I'd consider dealing with him.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimMac View Post
The PSL is like a 1970 ss396 Chevelle. Not really rare, not too fast, turns and stops like crap - but still a classic everyone wants

Last edited by Mark75H; 01-27-2017 at 10:10 PM.
Mark75H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 02:24 PM   #3
JimMac
Veteran Member
 
AKaholic #: 169345
Join Date: May 2013
Location: tucson az
Posts: 1,533
Default

Ive got a Rhineland arms stock for mine. Its Longer, one of mine has a tapco trigger in it. Not sure about the about about about parts. Jim
JimMac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 03:40 PM   #4
randomirish
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 189213
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Bushnell,FL
Posts: 8
Default

I'm sorry Mark but I have no idea who Jerry is. I'm fairly new here and am not familiar with everyone who produces parts and stocks.
randomirish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 09:52 PM   #5
GTR
Member
 
AKaholic #: 154713
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: West Coast
Posts: 314
Default

Jerry owns Black Horse Arsenal.
He had a few problems in the past delivering his products. I hear he has resolved many issues and is shipping products again.
The full story (both sides) can be viewed by searching BHA on this site.
GTR
GTR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 11:08 PM   #6
randomirish
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 189213
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Bushnell,FL
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks GTR
randomirish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 10:25 PM   #7
Bolt2bounce
Curio & Relic
 
AKaholic #: 14269
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: PRK
Posts: 2,246
Default

Quote:
He had a few problems in the past delivering his products.
Now that is funny stuff....
Bolt2bounce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 01:36 AM   #8
GTR
Member
 
AKaholic #: 154713
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: West Coast
Posts: 314
Default

I figured it was easier to reply to randomirish and bypass all the drama that jerry perpetrated upon the members here. I have read a few posts on another forum that product is shipping from BHA and the individuals have received orders. That being said
COD would be the only option.
GTR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 02:39 AM   #9
Bolt2bounce
Curio & Relic
 
AKaholic #: 14269
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: PRK
Posts: 2,246
Default

Quote:
COD would be the only option.
yeah I highly doubt (betting not) he would give you that option.. how would he use the funds to pay peter and paul ...
Bolt2bounce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 04:49 PM   #10
randomirish
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 189213
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Bushnell,FL
Posts: 8
Default

Whats the deal with Rhineland? Ive looked at their website but Im not too sure if they are active. I like their stock options, I just want to make sure my money wont be lost in limbo somewhere while I wait on a stock that may or may not be coming.

Also Ive read that some people have put ALG AKT triggers in their PSL rifles, is this possible with a little modification that will still keep the rifle safe to shoot or am I stuck with what I have? It does now have one of the red star adjustable triggers from what I was told by the gentleman I purchased it from.

Last edited by randomirish; 01-30-2017 at 05:04 PM.
randomirish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 05:41 PM   #11
Mark75H
Veteran Member
 
Mark75H's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 158645
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake Country
Posts: 1,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by randomirish View Post
Whats the deal with Rhineland? Ive looked at their website but Im not too sure if they are active. I like their stock options, I just want to make sure my money wont be lost in limbo somewhere while I wait on a stock that may or may not be coming.

Also Ive read that some people have put ALG AKT triggers in their PSL rifles, is this possible with a little modification that will still keep the rifle safe to shoot or am I stuck with what I have? It does now have one of the red star adjustable triggers from what I was told by the gentleman I purchased it from.
PSL's use AK single hook triggers. If its just the trigger and its single hook, it fits.


Black Horse does COD
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimMac View Post
The PSL is like a 1970 ss396 Chevelle. Not really rare, not too fast, turns and stops like crap - but still a classic everyone wants
Mark75H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 12:25 AM   #12
INDYK
Veteran Member
Bronze Contributor
 
INDYK's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 149930
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: In the corn...
Posts: 1,585
Default

[QUOTE=randomirish;3804764]

2. Is there any kind of longer stocks made for one? Ive got long arms and the short little stock is far from comfortable for me to shoot. I would like to stay with wood but would look into other poly options if I have to. My receiver is not a flat back its the curved back.

I use these guys on my Psl as well, best accessory i ever put on the thing. I think this is your ticket if you want to stay with the wooden stock and add length. UTG is a good cheap option or go with the ones from Kalinka if ya wanna choose from an assortment of colors.

online pics

__________________
MOSIN T's at 19$shipped, Kalashnikov shirts at 14$ GET SOME
INDYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 12:06 AM   #13
randomirish
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 189213
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Bushnell,FL
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for all the help guys its much appreciated.

An update on what is going on I have acquired an LPS TIP2 4x scope at my local pawn shop of all places. and I tried mounting it today and it doesnt seem to want to slide onto the rail. Seems like the bottom of the mount is bumping against the bottom of the rail. Is it more likely that the rail is out of spec? The rifle has a TGI Import mark on the bottom of it, and from what research I have done they seem notorious for this. Does anyone have experience in fixing this issue? and what steps would I need to take to fix it?
randomirish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 12:14 AM   #14
Mark75H
Veteran Member
 
Mark75H's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 158645
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake Country
Posts: 1,120
Default

Some rails are out of spec and need to be trued with a triangular file or milling tool.



Your pictures show the scope latch in the locked position ... are you putting it on locked or unlocked?


Do you know how to adjust the turret nut on the scope latch?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimMac View Post
The PSL is like a 1970 ss396 Chevelle. Not really rare, not too fast, turns and stops like crap - but still a classic everyone wants
Mark75H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 12:16 AM   #15
Apache
Member
Bronze Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 170773
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Simpson, LA
Posts: 64
Default

The mount on the scope is adjustable. You may still have an out-of-spec scope rail on the rifle, but try letting out the mounting screw all the way first.
Apache is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 02:16 AM   #16
Bolt2bounce
Curio & Relic
 
AKaholic #: 14269
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: PRK
Posts: 2,246
Default

it's likely not been machined for a scope yet and is oversized... a lot of the TGI receivers were either unfinished or seconds.. I had to fit all of mine in several places trigger opening scope rail and top rails all needed fitting...
Bolt2bounce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 02:24 AM   #17
GTR
Member
 
AKaholic #: 154713
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: West Coast
Posts: 314
Default

If you have a dial caliper to measure the scope mount rail then this link should rule out the the Rail.
http://www.akfiles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=100424

Adjustment of the mount may be required.

GTR
GTR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 05:01 PM   #18
savagebrother
Member
 
AKaholic #: 162509
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, ohio
Posts: 354
Default

i was lucky and got one of the square end receivers so i could use AK style stocks.


__________________
"The beauty of the second amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it." -Thomas Jefferson
savagebrother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 10:24 PM   #19
Mark75H
Veteran Member
 
Mark75H's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 158645
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake Country
Posts: 1,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by savagebrother View Post
i was lucky and got one of the square end receivers so i could use AK style stocks.


I wish I had done that with mine instead of converting it to std furniture
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimMac View Post
The PSL is like a 1970 ss396 Chevelle. Not really rare, not too fast, turns and stops like crap - but still a classic everyone wants
Mark75H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 04:29 PM   #20
randomirish
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 189213
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Bushnell,FL
Posts: 8
Default

I have tried putting the optic on the rail with the latch open and adjusted wide open. Looks like it's hitting the bottom lip of the mount by just a hair, I'll see if I can't get the measurements. I'm leaning towards it being the rail because the optic mounted perfectly on my Cugir WASR earlier today.
randomirish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 04:38 PM   #21
Mark75H
Veteran Member
 
Mark75H's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 158645
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake Country
Posts: 1,120
Default

As long as you know how to adjust that castle nut and have it near the end of the threads, that's what counts. Its not just about moving the latch handle.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimMac View Post
The PSL is like a 1970 ss396 Chevelle. Not really rare, not too fast, turns and stops like crap - but still a classic everyone wants
Mark75H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 11:55 PM   #22
randomirish
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 189213
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Bushnell,FL
Posts: 8
Default

I have moved the nut all the way out to the end of the threads, and have had the latch open. Like I said it went onto my WASR easily, but not the PSL rail. it doesnt hit on the clamp itself its hitting just by a hair on the mount itself. SO Im guessing I just need to trim the rail a bit to get the rail in spec.
randomirish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 12:26 AM   #23
Mark75H
Veteran Member
 
Mark75H's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 158645
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake Country
Posts: 1,120
Default

I believe the WASR & AK are a completely different spec. If your scope really fits the WASR/AK ... its not the PSL that's the problem, its that your scope mount is AK spec and not PSL spec.

Look at Kalinka's website; I think you can buy a PSL mount (the bottom part of the scope mount/bracket assembly) that fits the PSL.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimMac View Post
The PSL is like a 1970 ss396 Chevelle. Not really rare, not too fast, turns and stops like crap - but still a classic everyone wants
Mark75H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 02:38 PM   #24
randomirish
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 189213
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Bushnell,FL
Posts: 8
Default

Is there any way to tell the difference? And I was under the impression that the Romanian optics used universal mounts. I've attached images of the optic and mount.
randomirish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 01:25 AM   #25
Eddie1965
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 161896
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Culver City, California
Posts: 2
Default

I have TGI import that had an unfinished rail, a local guy with a mill helped me out and now the scope slides on with no problem. Find someone who can help you out, it's the rail.
Eddie1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©2015 The AK FIles