Go Back   The AK Files Forums > General Forums > Optics

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2018, 04:25 PM   #1
jey0803
Member
Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 159981
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 137
Default 1P78 tritium replacment

I have been searching, googling and binging, but have not found any real answers as to how would you replace the tritium in an 1P78 and if you can, where would you get the replacement tritium from?

The one I have was made in 2008 and still has some life left in it, but I figure the day will come when I need to do it.

Thanks for any advice on this.
jey0803 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 04:45 PM   #2
Wulfe74
Member
 
Wulfe74's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 191248
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eugene, Oregon. Go Ducks!
Posts: 150
Default

You would need to replace the radioactive capsule that illuminates the reticle. Ive done it on a 1p29 years ago or you can modify the unit for powered illumination. Here a modified 1p63 led lit reticle. I would also state; be very careful and realize your limitations. tearing apart an optic can run into a multitude of swearing and misfortune! Also your best bet for tritium capsules would be from big scientific chemical or equipment suppliers. Older com-bloc sights used Radium filled capsules.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 14566216.jpg (12.9 KB, 38 views)

Last edited by Wulfe74; 04-25-2018 at 04:50 PM.
Wulfe74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 06:15 PM   #3
jey0803
Member
Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 159981
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 137
Default

Thanks for the insight, I kind of figured it would be an extremely painful/delicate operation and was interested in other’s experiences. Looks like I probably have a couple years left until it’s a daylight optic. Ha ha.

Thanks again.
jey0803 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 11:18 AM   #4
voron
Curio & Relic
 
voron's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 174098
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nordland
Posts: 2,452
Default

Wulfe, were ever on AKforum? was that you who successfully replaced H3 in some scopes back in the day?
__________________
Кто не скачет- это Вооружённые Силы Новороссии
А кто скачет тот полный пидарас которого наебали свои-же лидеры.

BAN SIG 2017

voron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 10:23 PM   #5
TX-Zen
Senior Member
 
AKaholic #: 161660
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voron View Post
Wulfe, were ever on AKforum? was that you who successfully replaced H3 in some scopes back in the day?
Sure sounds like Mcnee229 doesn't it?


Quote:
The 1P29 is tritium illuminated and does not require batteries. Tritium will most likely be deactivated but there are ways to have them relit. Contact "Mcnee229" of theakforum.net for information, his hard work and ingenuity allowed him to fabricate a complete replacement insert
__________________
Z

http://RussianOptics.net
TX-Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 11:01 PM   #6
Wulfe74
Member
 
Wulfe74's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 191248
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eugene, Oregon. Go Ducks!
Posts: 150
Default

I was in on that conversation and forum back in the day. Im was never Mcnee229. That conversation led me to purchase a new vile from some long forgotten website though lol! the new tritium viles were never actually the right sizes, either too short/long or too thin/thin. Often On 1p29 you would drill out the radium vile slot for the replacement. Also there was kits that allowed a LED upgrade via a toggle switch.
Ive never attempted to take apart a 1p78 yet, I have a P2 thats slightly dimming so it might be an option here soon.

Last edited by Wulfe74; 04-26-2018 at 11:10 PM. Reason: spell chkr keeps screwing me!
Wulfe74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 01:38 AM   #7
wind-catcher
Member
 
AKaholic #: 187373
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ukraine, AK fan
Posts: 55
Default

I replaced the tritium in my 1P76 and it wasn't hard, you just have to be very careful and pay attention.

Do you have the manual for 1P78? Does it have a pic of guts ? You'll need that pic just in order to make sure where is the tritium capsule cover located. It should be near the prism block, but where exactly ?

By the way the original tritium isn't faded. It looks like it wasn't powerful enough from the factory. Mine glows right now MUCH better. I used two 2x6 mm green tubes.
wind-catcher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 10:11 AM   #8
voron
Curio & Relic
 
voron's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 174098
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nordland
Posts: 2,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TX-Zen View Post
Sure sounds like Mcnee229 doesn't it?




YES!!! thats him
__________________
Кто не скачет- это Вооружённые Силы Новороссии
А кто скачет тот полный пидарас которого наебали свои-же лидеры.

BAN SIG 2017

voron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:25 AM   #9
Oakley D
Member
 
AKaholic #: 163246
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 86
Default

Mixglow.com has many different sizes, shapes and colors.
Oakley D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 11:52 AM   #10
BorisBadenov
Member
 
BorisBadenov's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 180489
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 463
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oakley D View Post
Mixglow.com has many different sizes, shapes and colors.
Thanks for this! Been looking for a place that sold it for when my 1p63 loses its tritium.

But for others who search for this, it's actually www.mixglo.com without the 'w'.
BorisBadenov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 12:32 PM   #11
Wulfe74
Member
 
Wulfe74's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 191248
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eugene, Oregon. Go Ducks!
Posts: 150
Default

That is the site i originally purchased mine I believe. Same picture as a header with all the glowing files etc.
Wulfe74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 01:53 PM   #12
jey0803
Member
Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 159981
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 137
Default

I am looking through the manual for the optic, and can’t read Russian. With that, where would it be typically located? I see three spots where it could potentially be, one at one o’clock, one at 7 o’clock and one at 11 o’clock.

Thanks for the link to the tritium vials. Once I can figure out where it would go, I may try to replace it.

I appreciate the help with this question. If I end up going through with the replacement, I will take pics and let anyone who is interested in how the process worked out.
jey0803 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 04:14 PM   #13
jamf
jive ass mutha fucka
Bronze Contributor
 
jamf's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 162754
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mt. Pleasant, PA.
Posts: 1,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oakley D View Post
Mixglow.com has many different sizes, shapes and colors.
Nice! I need to replace the tritium in a trilux i picked up a few months ago.
__________________
Leon82 is still good people.
jamf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 11:09 PM   #14
TXsailor
Senior Member
 
AKaholic #: 193986
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kingsville, TX
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jey0803 View Post
I am looking through the manual for the optic, and can’t read Russian. With that, where would it be typically located? I see three spots where it could potentially be, one at one o’clock, one at 7 o’clock and one at 11 o’clock.

Thanks for the link to the tritium vials. Once I can figure out where it would go, I may try to replace it.

I appreciate the help with this question. If I end up going through with the replacement, I will take pics and let anyone who is interested in how the process worked out.
Я знаю Русский немного.

Upload the pages in question and I’ll take a swing at it?
TXsailor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 11:10 PM   #15
mojo00
AK SNOB
 
mojo00's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 9021
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ARIZONA
Posts: 4,890
Default

Just got an E.German ZFK scope.

Would it be worth the trouble to reactive it with one of them inserts?

Hard to find scope, I don't want to screw it up.
__________________
Praise the Lord and pass the Ammunition

http://spotthestation.nasa.gov/index.cfm
libertarians can suck my sweaty balls
mojo00 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 03:18 PM   #16
voron
Curio & Relic
 
voron's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 174098
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nordland
Posts: 2,452
Default

^^ can you find an original German manual somehwere on the net? maybe I can help you translate it...
__________________
Кто не скачет- это Вооружённые Силы Новороссии
А кто скачет тот полный пидарас которого наебали свои-же лидеры.

BAN SIG 2017

voron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 01:06 PM   #17
jey0803
Member
Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 159981
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 137
Default

Ok, so I am learning how to post pics, so bear with me.

The picture linked below shows where I think the tritium would go. It’s the only screw of its kind anywhere on the scope, and is unnamed according to the schematic in the manual (thanks again txsailor).



Does anyone have any thoughts on this before I crack this thing open?

As always, thanks
jey0803 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 03:20 PM   #18
TX-Zen
Senior Member
 
AKaholic #: 161660
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 689
Default

What are the side markings on your scope?

Don't do it if it's collectible or has a military reticule. I'll see if one of mine can be chopped up instead
__________________
Z

http://RussianOptics.net
TX-Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 03:28 PM   #19
TX-Zen
Senior Member
 
AKaholic #: 161660
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 689
Default

I suppose I should put some better pics up on the site to clarify the isssue. You can see 1P here has the same insert as P1 and regular Kashtan. Let me fool around with my P1, it's the most 'expendable' compared to yours

Haven't been thinking it would need to be replaced anytime soon, but I guess they've been in country for 9 or 10 years now

__________________
Z

http://RussianOptics.net
TX-Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 03:39 PM   #20
TX-Zen
Senior Member
 
AKaholic #: 161660
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 689
Default

I'll put pics up later but I don't think that screw is it. I removed mine but can't see anything deeper inside and can still see the tritium with the screw in or out

Shining a light doesn't allow any illumination into the optic either
__________________
Z

http://RussianOptics.net
TX-Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 04:11 PM   #21
jey0803
Member
Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 159981
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 137
Default

Thanks Zen, I really appreciate the help.

I ordered some tritium from the site suggested in an earlier post. If you are able to figure it out, I’ll send you one of them for your troubles.
jey0803 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 08:15 PM   #22
Wulfe74
Member
 
Wulfe74's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 191248
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eugene, Oregon. Go Ducks!
Posts: 150
Default

any luck? On my P2 theres a "waxed" or black greased over port on the bottom center in-between the picatinny clamp.
[[

Last edited by Wulfe74; 05-08-2018 at 08:57 PM.
Wulfe74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 08:21 PM   #23
Bacon&AlcoholDistributor
Veteran Member
 
Bacon&AlcoholDistributor's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 183128
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: ACS
Posts: 1,709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TX-Zen View Post
I'll put pics up later but I don't think that screw is it. I removed mine but can't see anything deeper inside and can still see the tritium with the screw in or out

Shining a light doesn't allow any illumination into the optic either
I wonder if that's the Nitrogen fill/gas port.
Bacon&AlcoholDistributor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 09:40 PM   #24
TX-Zen
Senior Member
 
AKaholic #: 161660
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 689
Default

I can't get a screw driver to catch on anything in the Kashtan and no way to light it up to see. It's too dark and narrow

Not sure what it is but it's smooth and featureless, no caulk or sealant that I can feel either
__________________
Z

http://RussianOptics.net
TX-Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 10:39 PM   #25
jey0803
Member
Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 159981
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 137
Default

Ok I tried something that may have helped figure out where it could be.

I’m just a jarhead so bear with me, and I don’t have my crayons to draw pictures ha ha.

I went into a dark room, and looked through the exit lense (the capped one), I noticed a very faint green glow on the right side at about the 3 o’clock position.

I looked on the body of the scope and found 2 very small screws that are flat headed. I looked in the manual and there are no numbers to identify what they are for. They are also the only two of their kind on the scope.

The attached picture is ginormous, but you will see what I am takLiking about.

http://imgdump4.novarata.net/image.u...8d23735e5.jpeg
jey0803 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 12:28 AM   #26
Wulfe74
Member
 
Wulfe74's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 191248
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eugene, Oregon. Go Ducks!
Posts: 150
Default

chris, wondering if its the top side of the the vile? sometimes they look white or off white and are relatively smooth.
jey, The two screws near the front might secure the forward lens assembly to the housing, Seems strange to me to put the luminescent emitter that far forward. All of the above is all speculation though, since I too have no clue lol!
This may go without saying, or like "duh man" but don't drill out any radium or tritium vile if located and are stuck/glued in the recess without a full face chem-respirator. Believe me people have done it! That's also why it says remove plastic before cooking, theres people out there even maybe just reading this that might breath in some toxic dust. just a FYI for the masses lol!
Anyone thought of emailing NPZ direct and asking? Found that T3) -08M is the vile element designation I believe.

Last edited by Wulfe74; 05-09-2018 at 01:08 AM.
Wulfe74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 01:45 AM   #27
wind-catcher
Member
 
AKaholic #: 187373
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ukraine, AK fan
Posts: 55
Default

DON'T touch them !!!

I speak russian since its my native language.
Look at the pic. Number 7 (on the right page) says that its the spring. And judging from the pic it looks like these screws some how hold its tension.
But there is one screw at 10 o'clock between the turrets that is located just above the prism block. If its big enough it might be it. But don't touch it if its like 2-56 or even 4-40 screw. Too small for the tritium.

Gimme a day and I'll take a pics of my milspec Rakurs inside. May be it will help you somehow.
wind-catcher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 01:47 AM   #28
wind-catcher
Member
 
AKaholic #: 187373
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ukraine, AK fan
Posts: 55
Default

Damn, I looked at the pic of jey0803 and this screw might be it.
BTW. On my Rakurs the tritium was at the bottom. And it was waxed by some shit (ruskies don't use thread locker). Gottagunna made a cool thread about tritium replacement in Rakurs but the pics are long gone.

Is there anything at the bottom of the scope? maybe under the mount?
wind-catcher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 09:57 AM   #29
jey0803
Member
Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 159981
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 137
Default

This is turning into quite the puzzle, and thanks for all the inputs so far.

I looked close to the bottom and it is pretty bare down there.

There are a few screws that are very small and covered by that wax(?) and if I recall, they are near the back of the sight.

As for contacting npz, I would be willing to do that but I would like to see if there is a homegrown solution first.
jey0803 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 12:45 PM   #30
Wulfe74
Member
 
Wulfe74's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 191248
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eugene, Oregon. Go Ducks!
Posts: 150
Default

wind-catcher, are you referring to Jeys pic of the "screw" between the adjustment knobs? Im starting to think that my P2 tritium is like the Rakurs (on the bottom) and the military 1p78's are else where.
Wulfe74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 02:58 PM   #31
wind-catcher
Member
 
AKaholic #: 187373
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ukraine, AK fan
Posts: 55
Default

Look at the last post I've made in that thread. http://www.akfiles.com/forums/showth...06#post4622806

I didn't want to make another thread dedicated to Rakurs. I hope it will help somehow.

Be VERY carefull. Russians use shitty cauc sealant which turns into some type of dustparticles in time. So when you remove the screws it degrades and pieces of that white shit can come loose and fall inside. So don't turn the scope upside down.
wind-catcher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 01:03 PM   #32
jey0803
Member
Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 159981
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 137
Default

I reached out to kalinka optics with the hopes of them having schematics or a way to get them and had no luck.

Does anyone know a way to contact npz or any other places that may have that information?
jey0803 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 01:51 PM   #33
TX-Zen
Senior Member
 
AKaholic #: 161660
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 689
Default

I reached out to a friend who has contacts in NPZ
__________________
Z

http://RussianOptics.net
TX-Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©1998-2018 The AK FIles