Up to 60% Off Daily Deal Products. Palmetto State Armory
The Ultimate Gun Belt, US Made, Lifetime Warranty, Free Shipping. Shop Now.
Gorilla Ammo Free Shipping when you order 10 Boxes or more.
Shop all the current Lone Wolf closeouts here

Go Back   The AK Files Forums > Rifle Forums > Shotguns

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2018, 12:45 AM   #1
Bigboss4198
Veteran Member
Bronze Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 178196
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 1,092
Default Red dot for Benelli M4/M1014 recommendations.

Any recommendations for a red dot for the Benelli M4? I was thinking maybe the new vortex venom. Looking for either mini red dots, or how do you guys think the trijicon rx34. Not interested in eotech. Mostly leaning towards the mini dots but Iím not sure if they can handle the shock of the m4??

Also what mount will I need or will the rail the Benelli M4 comes with will suffice.

Thank you.
Bigboss4198 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 12:14 PM   #2
Sublimeon24s
- Tactical Operator -
Contributor
 
Sublimeon24s's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 157162
Join Date: May 2011
Location: bed with two bi girls
Posts: 6,764
Default

any decent micro dot will work fine (primary arms / holosun / sig romeo all the way up to aimpoint)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jliu123 View Post
What can you say about?
Sublimeon24s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 04:48 PM   #3
Nikolaus_H_M
Member
 
AKaholic #: 166989
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 50
Default

One of the guys in my shooting/training group runs a Benelli M4 with a Leupold Deltapoint and it's been rock solid for what must be thousands of shells by now.
I've run it through a few courses of fire myself and it's nice and quick.
__________________
-- NRA Certified Pistol Instructor --
-- COURSES Taken: Haley Strategic D5 Adaptive Handgun, Silver Solutions Basic Pistol --

Last edited by Nikolaus_H_M; 01-22-2018 at 08:39 PM.
Nikolaus_H_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 05:17 PM   #4
oldflyer
Senior Member
 
oldflyer's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 175534
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Timber Creek Ranch, MS
Posts: 798
Default

I use the Primary Arms Microdot on my Vepr 12 with no issues.
oldflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 10:48 PM   #5
Bigboss4198
Veteran Member
Bronze Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 178196
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 1,092
Default

For any of those models above, will I need a specific mount? Or just the standard mount to use for a pic rail? Like the rail the Ben m4 has.
Bigboss4198 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 12:02 PM   #6
oldflyer
Senior Member
 
oldflyer's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 175534
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Timber Creek Ranch, MS
Posts: 798
Default

The PA Microdot works on a standard Picatinny rail.
oldflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 04:19 PM   #7
Sublimeon24s
- Tactical Operator -
Contributor
 
Sublimeon24s's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 157162
Join Date: May 2011
Location: bed with two bi girls
Posts: 6,764
Default

all those come "low base" 1913 rail mounts that will work on your top rail OP

Id REALLY give the sig romeo 5 a look if you find it for $130 shipped like I did at brownells a few weeks ago
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jliu123 View Post
What can you say about?
Sublimeon24s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 07:34 PM   #8
Bigboss4198
Veteran Member
Bronze Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 178196
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 1,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sublimeon24s View Post
all those come "low base" 1913 rail mounts that will work on your top rail OP

Id REALLY give the sig romeo 5 a look if you find it for $130 shipped like I did at brownells a few weeks ago

Iíll check them out
Bigboss4198 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 03:29 PM   #9
MOTOROLANUT
Curio & Relic
 
MOTOROLANUT's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 187095
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Out in left field of the US of A
Posts: 3,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sublimeon24s View Post
all those come "low base" 1913 rail mounts that will work on your top rail OP

Id REALLY give the sig romeo 5 a look if you find it for $130 shipped like I did at brownells a few weeks ago
I concur, I have few Romeo 5's and you can't beat the price or quality.

Look up some of the youtube reviews on the Romeo 5, I am sure you will be pleased.
MOTOROLANUT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 09:22 AM   #10
ARMT Guy
Takin' care of business
 
ARMT Guy's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 165711
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,719
Default

Initially, I used an Aimpoint T1 on a LaRue low mount.

This worked quite well, however, late last year, I had another sight sight go down and I had a Trijicon RMR sitting around, so I moved the RMR to the M4 and have been very pleased with it thus far.
ARMT Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 10:01 AM   #11
Sublimeon24s
- Tactical Operator -
Contributor
 
Sublimeon24s's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 157162
Join Date: May 2011
Location: bed with two bi girls
Posts: 6,764
Default

OP......the Holosun 503GU or 503G with the ACSS reticle are pretty awesome for shotguns as well

The 503GU has either just a 2MOA dot or a 65MOA reticle with 2MOA dot in the middle like an Eotech - great retcile for up close and person - 50 yards

the 503G with the ACSS reticle basically has a horshoe with a chevron in the center and BDC drops......while i personally wouldnt give a shit about the BDC drops on a shotgun too much, the Horshoe with Chevron in the center also make for a quick CQB image which is great for a shotgun
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jliu123 View Post
What can you say about?
Sublimeon24s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 10:24 AM   #12
Sublimeon24s
- Tactical Operator -
Contributor
 
Sublimeon24s's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 157162
Join Date: May 2011
Location: bed with two bi girls
Posts: 6,764
Default

Heres a pic of the 503GU on my mossberg. Camera makes the reticle look much thicker than it really is

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jliu123 View Post
What can you say about?
Sublimeon24s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 02:13 PM   #13
Bigboss4198
Veteran Member
Bronze Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 178196
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 1,092
Default

They look nice. And I agree I about the BDC. It’s not like I’m gonna shoot 100+ yards with it. I’ll check out those options.
Bigboss4198 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2018, 04:11 PM   #14
NCswamp13
Member
 
AKaholic #: 182539
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 360
Default



Holosun with acss ret on a scaraworks mount
NCswamp13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 08:52 PM   #15
case mouth
Member
 
AKaholic #: 185886
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: NUNYA, NC
Posts: 131
Default

Check out scalarworks for a nice super low profile mount, I had one with an RMR on a SBE for turkey hunting, loved the mount but the first time a drop of water got on the rmr and I didn't have a dot during a hunt I was done.....
case mouth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 11:27 PM   #16
Bigboss4198
Veteran Member
Bronze Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 178196
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 1,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by case mouth View Post
Check out scalarworks for a nice super low profile mount, I had one with an RMR on a SBE for turkey hunting, loved the mount but the first time a drop of water got on the rmr and I didn't have a dot during a hunt I was done.....



Iíve seen those scalarworks mounts and theyíre nice. Do I need one for the benelli? Or will the factory picatinny rail suffice? For example if I buy the RMR with a picatinny Mount?
Bigboss4198 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 04:54 AM   #17
case mouth
Member
 
AKaholic #: 185886
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: NUNYA, NC
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigboss4198 View Post
Iíve seen those scalarworks mounts and theyíre nice. Do I need one for the benelli? Or will the factory picatinny rail suffice? For example if I buy the RMR with a picatinny Mount?
You don't have to have one, it just sits the RMR much lower and I think allows co witness too...
case mouth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 11:26 AM   #18
Cartel
Veteran Member
 
Cartel's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 164753
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,322
Default

Aimpoint Micro or Primary Arms Advanced Micro Dot with the rotary knobs.
Cartel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©1998-2018 The AK FIles