Go Back   The AK Files Forums > Rifle Forums > RPKs and RPDs

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2011, 04:08 PM   #1
MadRussian605
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 158689
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2
Question DSA RPD Question.

I picked up an RPD a few weeks ago and I have been having trouble with feeding issues. What happens is the round will frequently get jamed in the belt. It seems as the action cycles it starts to move the round into the chamber and it ends up canted in the receiver. It will happens spuraticly, I can usually only make it 15rds before another jam.
I have cleaned it thoroughly. But since RPD literature is mostly in Russian it makes research difficult.
Any suggestions?
MadRussian605 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:10 PM   #2
7.62-Christmas
Senior Member
 
AKaholic #: 156776
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 678
Default

You haven't been the only one with problems. Sturmgewhere from Military Arms Channel on Youtube had one that got fixed by DSA, then still had those problems. If I were you I would contact DSA, looks like they still haven't fixed it.

I'm sorry man, it sucks when when you pay good money for something like that only to have it not work
7.62-Christmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:44 PM   #3
GRUNGEWEHR39
Shhhh..Don't tell lsmurphy
 
AKaholic #: 83421
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 898
Default

What style of belt do you have? I have 2 different ones. Maybe part of the problem?
GRUNGEWEHR39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 02:25 AM   #4
Ron_in_PHX
Member
Bronze Contributor
 
AKaholic #: 273
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 77
Default

I had a feeding problem with my RPD. I put the feed tray from my son's RPD in mine and the problem went away. His RPD would run with my feed tray however. I bought a couple feed trays from Apex and replaced my feed tray with one of those.
Ron_in_PHX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 05:43 PM   #5
MadRussian605
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 158689
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2
Default

The belts are the standard Bulgarian ones. It may be them. Im going to try a new set.

Looking at a new feed tray as well.

Thanks for the help
MadRussian605 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:35 PM   #6
millersm99
Member
 
AKaholic #: 3081
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 256
Default

I've heard of this problem before. The belts do matter depending which country your kit came from. Try the Polish belts from MGS.
millersm99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 04:11 PM   #7
FloridaAKM
Curio & Relic
 
AKaholic #: 3568
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,318
Default

There are two types of belts, one has an "L" bent into the link that the cartridge base stops against & the other has a "V" bent in the end of the link that locks into the rim of the cartridge! All the belts that go with my RPD are of the "V" type that give zero problems either loading or feeding into the action while shooting!
FloridaAKM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 11:44 AM   #8
UFGATOR762
Veteran Member
 
UFGATOR762's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 156193
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: G-Ville FL
Posts: 1,298
Default

which is the correct belt for a polish rpd or does it matter . i have both the v and the L but haven't used them yet .
UFGATOR762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:00 PM   #9
UFGATOR762
Veteran Member
 
UFGATOR762's Avatar
 
AKaholic #: 156193
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: G-Ville FL
Posts: 1,298
Default RPD drums

well i took the RPD out to shoot today . used the L belts and it shot a drum perfectly . no snags . cycled one round after another so from that the L belts work on a Polish RPD . next time i will use the v's and see how they work .
UFGATOR762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 12:12 AM   #10
Blair_heavenwood
New Member
 
AKaholic #: 159018
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA, Norfolk, VA
Posts: 5
Default

Can anyone tell me is a "Polish" belt is an "L" or "V" type? I can't find anything definitive in these forums or on the web in general. Thanks.

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but for my question, this seems a better option than starting a new one.
Blair_heavenwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©1998-2017 The AK FIles