PDA

View Full Version : New AK owner question....

alou
09-27-2016, 05:46 PM
I finally joined the club and purchased a PSA AK47 with Magpul furniture! I have extensive experience with AR platforms but have very little knowledge regarding AKs.

Now I have some questions. I loaded a Pmag with 20 rounds of Wolf Polyperformance FMJs and started to cycle the rifle. After doing this, I had some concerns:

1. I noticed it was more difficult to manually cycle the bolt with a loaded mag vs. an empty mag, at least much more so than an AR.

2. Most of the time, the bolt will not close all the way, leaving about .25-.5 inch gap (I'm slingshoting the charging handle and not riding it home).

3. Sometimes, as I'm trying to cycle the bolt that hasn't closed all the way, it feels like it's stuck. When I put some elbow grease into it, the round gets catapulted out about 3 times further than a "smooth" cycle.

Is this normal? thanks.

FYI, I haven't done any live firing yet.

Hoingster
09-27-2016, 10:12 PM
Do not fire that rifle before you get the headspace checked. Something doesn't sound right.

alou
09-27-2016, 10:56 PM
Do not fire that rifle before you get the headspace checked. Something doesn't sound right.

Sounds like good advice!

Palmetto State Armory
09-28-2016, 12:00 PM
I finally joined the club and purchased a PSA AK47 with Magpul furniture! I have extensive experience with AR platforms but have very little knowledge regarding AKs.

Now I have some questions. I loaded a Pmag with 20 rounds of Wolf Polyperformance FMJs and started to cycle the rifle. After doing this, I had some concerns:

1. I noticed it was more difficult to manually cycle the bolt with a loaded mag vs. an empty mag, at least much more so than an AR.

2. Most of the time, the bolt will not close all the way, leaving about .25-.5 inch gap (I'm slingshoting the charging handle and not riding it home).